England at the 2022 World Cup: who is in Gareth Southgate’s 26-man squad?

Nov. 14 (Reuters) – England are looking to win their second World Cup title on Nov. 20-Dec. 18 tournament in Qatar. Here’s what you need to know about his team:

How many players are England allowed to take to Qatar?

* Teams will be able to select up to 26 players for this year’s World Cup after FIFA increased the maximum limit for teams from three in June, citing the unusual timing of the tournament and the impact of COVID-19.

* Coaches have until November 14 to decide on their final 26-man squad for a 1800 GMT deadline.

Who is in England’s 2022 World Cup squad?

The England squad was announced on 10 November.

* Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Newcastle United), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal).

Everton goalkeeper Pickford has been Southgate’s first choice since the 2018 World Cup and started every game at last year’s European Championship.

Pope’s form for Newcastle appears to have sealed his place as Pickford’s deputy, while Ramsdale’s impressive performances at Arsenal have earned him his inclusion in favor of Nottingham Forest loanee Dean Henderson.

Also Read :  Banksy unveils Ukraine mural in town bombed by Russia

* Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Conor Coady (Everton, on loan from Wolverhampton Wanderers), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City) , Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Ben White (Arsenal).

Southgate has opted for four specialist defenders and five players who feature predominantly centrally after his options were depleted by injuries to Chelsea defenders Reece James and Ben Chilwell.

Walker overcame fitness issues to be included while White was rewarded for an excellent season. Southgate kept faith in Maguire despite his poor club form which resulted in him being dropped from the United squad.

* Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City), Declan Rice (West Ham United).

Phillips recovered in time from a shoulder injury to make the cut despite lacking match fitness. Gallagher shone for Palace last season and is on Southgate’s radar, earning a place despite being little used at Chelsea.

Also Read :  Toothless attack a concern for pessimistic Mexico at World Cup

The Bellingham teenager will bring an energetic presence and an eye for opportunity while Rice provides a solid shield in front of the defense as well as a driving force in the middle of the field.

* Forwards: Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), James Maddison (Leicester City), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Chelsea), Callum Wilson (Newcastle United).

Maddison and Wilson earned their first call-ups in three years after the start of the domestic season.

Rashford also returns to the fold after finding goalscoring form this season and will accompany talisman Kane in the striking department.

What are the notable omissions?

* Southgate has left out a number of in-form players including defender Fikayo Tomori (AC Milan), midfielder James Ward-Prowse (Southampton) and forwards Tammy Abraham (AS Roma) and Ivan Toney (Brentford), all of whom are in squads recent

Which teams will England face in the group stage?

Also Read :  Kherson is 'ours,' says Zelenskyy – DW – 11/11/2022

England will face Iran, Wales and the United States in Group B.

Who was in England’s World Cup 2018 squad?

Twelve of the 26 players named on Thursday were part of the squad that reached the semi-finals under Southgate in Russia, where they lost to Croatia in extra time.

* Goalkeepers: Jack Butland (Stoke City), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Burnley).

Defenders: John Stones (Manchester City), Harry Maguire (Leicester City), Phil Jones (Manchester Utd), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Tottenham Hotspur), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Ashley Young (Manchester Utd), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool).

Midfielders: Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Jesse Lingard (Manchester Utd), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea), Fabian Delph (Manchester City) .

Forwards: Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City), Marcus Rashford (Manchester Utd), Danny Welbeck (Arsenal).

Compiled by Hritika Sharma in Bengaluru, edited by Ed Osmond

Our standards: Thomson Reuters’ principles of trust.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Articles

Back to top button