Election Results 2022, Assembly Bypolls On 7 Seats In 6 States: BJP Wins 3 Key Elections, Ahead In 1, Close Fight In Telangana: 10 Points

Counting starts at 8 am and results are usually expected at noon. (Image for representation)

New Delhi:
Election Results: Election results in seven assembly seats in six states will be declared today. Prestige battles are being fought in Bihar and Telangana, and a family legacy is on the line in Haryana.

Here are 10 points that encapsulate what these elections mean:

  1. The BJP won in Gola Gokrannath of Uttar Pradesh, Adampur of Haryana and Gopalganj of Bihar, and is leading in Dhamnagar of Odisha. Rashtriya Janata Dal led by Tejashwi Yadav won in Bihar’s Mokama. Rao’s Telangana Rashtriya Samithi of K Chandrashekar ahead in Munugode and Shiv Sena faction led by Uddhav Thackeray is poised for a victory in Mumbai’s Andheri East seat.

  2. Of the seven seats, the BJP held three, the Congress two, while the Shiv Sena and the RJD each had one before the polls. Two of the seats are in Bihar and one each in UP, Haryana, Maharashtra, Telangana and Odisha.

  3. Bihar is seeing the first contest – on two seats – as Nitish Kumar quit the BJP to revive JDU’s alliance with Tejashwi Yadav’s RJD. RJD candidate Neelam Devi, wife of Anant Singh, who was disqualified after being convicted of illegally possessing arms, is leading in Mokama. In Gopalganj, the RJD is hoping to oust the BJP which has held it for nearly two decades. It pitted Mohan Prasad Gupta against the BJP’s Kusum Devi, whose husband Subhas Singh’s death necessitated the election.

  4. In Haryana, former Chief Minister Bhajan Lal’s family seat, Adampur, will decide whether his grandson Bhavya Bishnoi can carry forward the 68-year-old legacy after switching from the Congress to the BJP. Bhavya’s father Kuldeep Bishnoi, who led the family in the BJP, resigned as Adampur MLA as he defected, leading to this bypoll.

  5. Maharashtra’s Andheri East sees two firsts. It is the first poll fight after Shiv Sena was split into two as Eknath Shinde defeated Uddhav Thackeray to become Chief Minister with the help of BJP. And it is the first in decades that the Thackerays-led Sena is fighting with a new name – Shiv Sena (Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray) – and a new symbol, the ‘mashaal’ or flaming torch.

  6. Shiv Sena (Uddhav) candidate Rutuja Latke is the widow of former Sena MLA from Andheri (East), who died after a heart attack in May 2022 in Dubai. The BJP had withdrawn its candidate as part of “political tradition” in the polls necessitated by the death of a leader.

  7. In Telangana, Munugode saw the ruling TRS and its arch-rival BJP fighting on the ground and made allegations involving “crores of rupees” – especially given Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao’s ambition to mount a challenge to the Prime Minister Narendra Modi in 2024. The Congress MLA had resigned and is now fighting on the BJP ticket.

  8. In Odisha’s Dhamnagar, too, the regional ruling party BJD is facing the BJP. The BJP won last time, but the death of MLA Bishnu Charan Sethi led to this contest. He lived his son.

  9. In its UP stronghold, the BJP is seeking to retain the Gola Gokarannath seat, which fell vacant after the death of its MLA Arvind Giri on September 6. The BSP and the Congress are far apart, so it is a straight fight between Arvind Giri’s son Aman Giri. (BJP) and Samajwadi Party Vinay Tiwari, a former MLA.

  10. None of these contests are likely to upset the math for current state governments. But, with regional parties trying to put together a united front for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections – just a year and a half away – these could serve as booster shots, or perception, depending on the results.

Also Read :  Christopher Darnell Jones, Suspect in University of Virginia Massacre, Once Spoke About Traumatic Childhood


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Articles

Back to top button